Student Activities

Participation in extracurricular clubs and student government can be a rewarding and meaningful educational experience that enhances a child’s secondary education. It is important that students realize the time demands, responsibility, dedication and sacrifices required when making this kind of commitment. The following information defines the extra-curricular policies and procedures for all students participating in our High School activities. Please refer to the Student Activities Handbook for a better understanding of our philosophy, goals, and policies, or when a question about your child’s extra-curricular experience arises.

FFA

FFA is an intra-curricular student organization for those interested in agriculture and leadership. It is one of the three components of agricultural education. FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

Advisors:
Ms. Arey marey@essextech.net
Ms. Menesale cmenesale@essextech.net
Ms. Plante jplante@essextech.net

Career Development Event (CDE)  Advisor Email Address
Agricultural Sales Ms. Menesale cmenesale@essextech.net
Creed Ms. Menesale cmenesale@essextech.net
Dairy Judging Ms. Corson lcorson@essextech.net
Demonstration Ms. Arey marey@essextech.net
Environmental Science & Natural Resources  Ms. Crofts pcrofts@essextech.net
Floriculture Ms. Verrington mverrington@essextech.net
Forestry   Mr. Crofts pcrofts@essextech.net
Horse Judging  Ms. Corson lcorson@essextech.net
Job Interview  Ms. Corson lcorson@essextech.net
Livestock Judging  Ms. Corson lcorson@essextech.net
Nursery/Landscape Ms. Plante jplante@essextech.net
Marketing Plan  Ms. Menesale cmenesale@essextech.net
Prepared Public Speaking Ms. Kimani jkimani@essextech.net
Science Fair Ms. Dalphin mdalphin@essextech.net
Quiz Bowl 1 & 2 Ms. Plante jplante@essextech.net
Veterinary Science  Ms. Smith rsmith@essextech.net

SkillsUSA

SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers, and industry working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. We provide educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms. SkillsUSA’s mission is to empower its members to become world-class workers, leaders and responsible American citizens. SkillsUSA improves the quality of America’s skilled workforce through a structured program of citizenship, leadership, employability, technical and professional skills training.   Read More….

Advisors:
Ms. Batzer ebatzer@essextech.net

Art Club: 

Come to this club to explore your creative talents and enjoy some DIY projects, art appreciation and have fun!

Advisor:
Ms. Harding mharding@essextech.net

Community Service-Key Club

Key Club is a service leadership organization for high school students, who love to help in their communities and get involved.

Advisors:
Ms. Grace ngrace@essextech.net
Ms. Ballas eballas@essextech.net

Environmental Action Club

Activities include recycling, trail maintenance, setting up bat or bird boxes, compost, outdoor recreation, beach clean up and volunteer work with other organizations.

Advisor:
Ms. Rasmus jrasmus@essextech.net

Equestrian Club Drill Team

An equestrian drill team is a group of horses and riders performing choreographed maneuvers to music.

Advisors:
Ms. Wilde vwilde@essextech.net
Ms. Gurissi

Goat Club:

Learn more about goats! Activities include completing an agility course, maintain their coats and nails, and provide environmental enrichment.

Advisor:
Ms. Smith rsmith@essextech.net

GSA Gay Straight Alliance

Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), also known as Essex Tech Awareness Group (ETAG), is a forum of support for every sort of diversity, including but not limited to gender and sexual orientation issues, religious issues, and racial issues. GSA is a group of thoughtful and caring Essex Tech Citizens who are excited to belong to a school where diversity is not only accepted but encouraged. GSA sponsors social activities as well as forums for the education of the school community about the importance of tolerance and diversity.

Advisors:
Ms. Kline ekline@essextech.net
Ms. Kimani jkimani@essextech.net
Ms. Harding mharding@essextech.net

Livestock Showing-Cattle Club

This club is for students who want to learn to show cattle in fitting and showmanship competitions. Students will choose a school cow to work with and train to show in local cattle shows, such as the Topsfield Fair.

Advisors:
Ms. Corson lcorson@essextech.net
Ms. Grungo sgrungo@gmail.com

Literary Magazine  (Quill and Hawk)

If for students who want to contribute or contribute and publish creative works by students at ETHS. The purpose for the “Magazine” is to provide the experience of writing, evaluating, and publishing creative works–paintings, line art, photography graphic art, stories, poetry and personal narratives–by students. All students are welcome to participate–contributions will be accepted throughout the year, focused on two publications–Winter and Spring, depending on interest and contribution.

Advisor:
Ms. Dashcund ndashcund@essextech.net

 

Music Club

Music club invites any student who has a passion for music to bring and play instruments, sing or just appreciate the bands and music they love with like-minded peers. This will be an informal gathering for music lovers; voluntary performances are a possibility if students are interested, but no musical ability is required to attend.

Advisor:
Mr. Bilton jbilton@essextech.net

National Honor Society & National Technical Honor Society

Celebrating outstanding educational achievement and advancement in career and technical education. Open to juniors and seniors with a cumulative grade point average of 3.5, who demonstrate leadership, service, and good character. This is an application process through invitation.

Advisor:
Ms. McKay kmckay@essextech.net

Political Action Club

ETPAC (Essex Tech Political Action Club) is a forum for allowing students to explore politics and have civil discourse on issues relating to federal, state, and local government.

Advisor:
Mr. Stark jstark@essextech.net

Science Team

The Essex Tech Science Team participates in the North Shore Science League. In the North Shore Science League, schools compete against each other in events involving building, invention, engineering, lab techniques, and application of knowledge. All areas of science are included in events during the year. Students travel to 7 meets over the course of the year. The science team meets in D208 on Tuesday to prepare for meets. The team travels to meets on the second Tuesday of each month, October through April.

Advisor:
Ms. Dalphin mdalphin@essextech.net

Sign Language Club

Join and learn the visual language of sign.

Advisor:
Ms. Ballas eballas@essextech.net

Student Mentors

The Student Mentors are a select group of students who are charged with helping our freshmen transition to Essex Tech. These students help at orientation and make connections with freshmen throughout the year.

Advisor:
Mr. Connors dconnors@essextech.net

Weightlifting Club

Physical fitness plays an essential role in longevity, health and character building. The education that can be attained in this club will not only help students stay fit and healthy, but they will also learn the significance and fundamentals of dedication, loyalty, and setting goals.

Advisor:
Mr. Roumeliotis croumeliotis@essextech.net

Yearbook

Come and make some lasting memories while creating and organizing the School Yearbook. Yearbook is open to all students to work on a student-designed yearbook that covers the whole school and school year. If you are creative, like to take photos and create some cool pages – we’d love to have you. Yearbook meets on Mondays in A124, with Ms. Plante.

Advisors:
Mr. Roumeliotis croumeliotis@essextech.net
Ms. Plante jplante@essextech.net

Class Advisors

Class of 2017
Mr. Strob kstrob@essextech.net
Mrs. Grace ngrace@essextech.net

Class of 2018
Mr. Hubbard  mhubbard@eesextech.net

Class of 2019
Mr. Roumeliotis croumeliotis@essextech.net

Class of 2020
Ms. Enos senos@essextech.net
Ms. Dawes cdawes@essextech.net